{getting to know} Gracey Wallace

Meet Gracey.

oldnavymaxi-10

 She’s from Texas.

summerbrights_4

She wears really cute clothes.

IMG_9267

 She’s the creative mind behind the blog stripes & peonies.

If you don’t already read her blog, you’re missing out. It’s the perfect mix of lifestyle and fashion.  I had a lot of fun getting to interview Gracey (she was so sweet and professional!) So let’s jump on in and get to know a little bit more about the girl behind stripes & peonies.


Why did you start blogging? Was there anyone that inspired you to start a blog?
I started blogging about a year ago. I have always been interested in photography, fashion, and graphic design, so when I discovered how many blogs there were on the internet, I decided to start my own! I really didn’t know anything about blogging, so I just learned as I went. Probably my biggest inspiration was Mackenzie Horan, as she was the first blogger I discovered and admired.

What is your blog about?
My blog is sort of a mix of everything. I didn’t want to limit myself to one topic, so I post about fashion, beauty, cooking, life, and travel. I post about what is inspiring in my life, wether it be a new recipe or my latest vacation.

What does your typical blogging schedule look like? How do you manage your time between school, life, and blogging?
During school, I blog mostly on the weekends and nights when I have free time after my homework. During the summer, I try to write the post for the next day, shoot outfit posts, and gain inspiration for future posts. I am constantly monitoring my social media accounts (I’m a little obsessed), and it’s the best way to promote my blog. As for managing time, School is always a priority, so sometimes I don’t get a post out or I am silent on social media for a while. I try to not have blogging control my life, as its easy to get caught up in the crazy and competitive world of blogging.

How has social media influenced your blog? What is your favorite form of social media?
Social media has become a huge part of my blog. It’s the best way to express myself and connect with fellow bloggers. Instagram is where I have the most followers and it is the platform where I get to share my love of photography and give my followers a behind the scenes look at my life.

Do you have any tips for bloggers just starting up?
I would suggest that one start with a game plan in mind. Draft multiple posts so that you have consistent content and develop a strong presence on social media. Having a successful blog takes time, so you have to be patient. Things will happen!

Any exciting summer plans or projects in the works? 
Yes! This summer I will be jetting off to Europe, NYC, and Martha’s Vineyard (my home away from home). I also have a super big project I’m working on, so stay tuned!

Follow stripes & peonies on twitterInstagram, and tumblr.
(side note: the layout Gracey has for her tumblr is sick.)
Until next time,
Autrin
One thought on “{getting to know} Gracey Wallace

Leave a Reply

