BCN to CDG

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to go to Paris and it was truly lovely. Barcelona is still my true love, but I loved visiting Paris. For an art and architecture nerd like myself, seeing everything I’ve learned about in both my art history classes and my AP Euro class I took sophomore year of high school was amazing. Since I only had a weekend I made sure to do as much as possible in a short amount of time. I arrived Friday evening and took a boat cruise down the Seine River. I enjoyed going out on my own and seeing the city of lights at night. Saturday morning I ventured outside the city to Versailles. That afternoon my friends arrived and we played tourist going everywhere from Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower . Sunday we visited the Tour de France, biked around, and went up the Eiffel Tower. Basically, I saw it all. Paris exceeded my expectations and I could not have asked for a better weekend!


FRIDAY

IMG_0554

IMG_0561

I love how the colors of the French flag were projected on the building at night!

IMG_0581

IMG_0584

IMG_0585

My favorite shot of the Eiffel Tower.


SATURDAY 

IMG_1051

Early mornings in Versailles; there is nothing quite like it.

IMG_1057

IMG_1066

IMG_1067

The use of gold intensifies the beauty of the palace.

IMG_1118

I honestly could not get enough of the attention to detail.

IMG_1120

I mean, c’mon, look at this ceiling.

Once my friends arrived, we quickly grabbed something to eat and hopped on our tour bus for the afternoon. If you only have a short amount of time somewhere, I highly recommend taking a tour bus around. It drops you off at all the main tourist attractions and it allows you to efficiently see the city. Another perk is that you get an audio guide in English, and since the only word I know in French is merci, it was well worth it.

IMG_1148

Cliche picture at Love Lock Bridge.

IMG_1157

Locking away my two loves: life and travel.

IMG_0597

Happily embracing my tourist status at the Louve.

IMG_0026

Once again, the attention to detail, my goodness.


SUNDAY 

IMG_0008_3

Le Tour de France happened to be ending in Paris the same Sunday I was in town so we stopped by to see the festivities in action. Unfortunately my flight left right around the same time the racers came in, but it was still exciting to see everything set up.

IMG_0044

Next, we toured the Eiffel Tower, or Tour Eiffel as they say in French.

IMG_0025_2

View from the top.

IMG_0029_2

The Arc de Triumph + Raceday = The perfect view from the Eiffel Tower.

I also made a little video documenting my trip, so check it out!

Until next time,

Autrin

One thought on “BCN to CDG

Leave a Reply

