why STRATEGIC COMMUNICATIONS is the major for me.

I am pursuing a career as a communications professional because I love the creativity and innovation that this line of work requires. I have always known I wanted to do something that allowed me to express my ideas and myself. Growing up I expressed myself through art and painting. My senior year of high school I had art shows in both LA and Sacramento, California and I believed fine arts are something I would continue in college. However, like many 18 year-olds, I was unsure of what I really wanted in a career. When I came to KU I explored around, taking classes in both the School of Art and Design and the School of Journalism. I realized that Strategic Communications is where my career aspirations lie. My freshman year of college I was elected Public Relations Chairman of my sorority, a position I still hold, and my love of branding and advertising emerged. This was the beginning of my love affair with Strategic Communications, and it is a love that continues to grow stronger the more I learn about advertising and marketing.

My artistic background has taught me that there is inspiration everywhere I look. I think my work will have a lasting impact on others because I don’t want to create something that has already been done; I want to create something lasting, something new, something innovative. As cliché as it sounds, I also want my work to leave the world a better place. The world around me is where I draw my inspiration and if I am not doing my part to better it, then I will not be inspired. I want to have a career that betters both humanity and the environment, together bettering the world.

Overall, I want to become a communications professional because I simple find it fun and exciting. I never want to feel tied down by my career or that I am doing the same thing day-after-day. As a communications professional my career would be continuously evolving, with endless opportunities and experiences. On a recent trip to Chicago, I visited Starcom and I was able to imagine the career and life I one day want. After going to Starcom and seeing the cultivating environment that fosters creativity, enthusiasm and passion, I know that is the career path I want to walk down.

Until next time,

Autrin

Leave a Reply

